Ryan Mademann Campership

Troop 23 Scouts are invited to apply for the Ryan Mademann Campership to defer the costs of their participation in Summer Camp. The Campership provides $200 to each of two scouts to cover a portion of the costs of attending summer camp with Troop 23. The funding can only be used for Summer Camp and cannot be redirected to other Scouting-related expenses. It is not a need-based Campership but rather a merit award based on a Scout’s essay describing his goals for the coming summer camp.

Ryan Mademann was an Eagle Scout (2005) from Troop 23 who passed away in May of 2009. Ryan greatly enjoyed scouting and was one of our more active young men until he left the Troop to attend college. Ryan was a talented leader and camper who especially enjoyed Scouting’s outdoor activities.  To honor Ryan’s memory, the Ryan Mademann Campership was established in 2010. Since then, 11 Scouts have won the Ryan Mademann Campership:

2010–Patrick B. & Michael G.

2011–Justin P.

2013–Nicholas Z. & Hank S.

2015–Tyler J. & Wade S.

2016–Jacob S. & Quinn D.

2018–Sam W. & Jack W.

To be eligible, Scouts must (1) have attended summer camp at least once, (2) have been active with the Troop over the past scouting year, and (3) not been awarded a Ryan Mademann Campership in past years. Scouts who satisfy these criteria and are interested in the Campership should write a short essay describing why attending Summer Camp is important to them and how it fits in with their Scouting plan for the coming year. Upon submission, names will be removed from the essays and assigned codes to ensure the authors’ identities are not available to the judges. Scouts can turn in a printed copy their essays at the Advancement/Registration Table at Monday Night Troop Meetings. Essays are due by the conclusion of the Troop Meeting on Monday, April 29, 2019.

The Scoutmaster and Committee Members will review the essays and forward a subset to the Mademann family for final judging. The winner will ultimately be chosen by the Mademann Family and the winners announced shortly thereafter.

Scouts should contact Mr. Dunbar with any questions.